Zheino USB 3.0 2.5″HDD/SSD Enclosure Review

$_35Although I originally got the Zheino 2.5″ USB 3.0 HDD Enclosure for use with my Acer C720 Chromebook I’d upgraded my Toshiba Satellite C660-15R Desktop replacement Laptop for the HP Stream 11 Notebook, so this review will be more geared towards use in Windows 10 although it could also be used with Chrome OS, Mac OS X or Linux.The Enclosure features a tool less slide open design and a simple slide in connection for the HDD/SSD meaning that you can easily swap HDD or SSD when you need to, there is a lock switch next to the USB 3.0 port to stop you from being able to accidentally opening the Enclosure while it’s in use. On the top of the Enclosure there is a shiny strip that includes a Dual LED Blue = USB 3.0 White = USB 2.

The Enclosure is a pretty sturdy build quality, but the USB 3.0 cable that is provided is pretty short meaning that you might have problems plugging it into the USB 2/3.0 Port on a Desktop, but is pretty thick and feels good quality.

Use In Windows 10

In Windows 10  it’s possible to set documents and Windows Store Apps to automatically use an External drive to Install or Save to. I’ve found that taking it one step further and Installing Windows Programs to an external HDD even one that you’ve placed into this Enclosure causes the File System of the HDD to corrupt beyond the ability of Windows 10’s Disk Management applet or Windows Explorer Format function, requiring the use of a 3rd party Partitioning tool to Re-Format the HDD back to a working NTFS format.

I don’t know if it’s due to the fact that my 1TB Toshiba HDD that I put into my Toshiba Laptop a few years ago, due to it having to put up with a few hard power downs due to the Toshiba Laptop becoming un responsive or if it’s the Enclosure. I’ll have to try and get my hands on a new HDD to see what the problem is.

Other than having issues Installing Windows Programs to the HDD installed in this Enclosure it’s a pretty good choice for an Enclosure even if you just use it to save your Documents and maybe Install non essential Windows Store Apps to.

Roland

 

Leave a comment